June – An Uplyfting Short Film

maxresdefault
Sweet youth! Borrowed from YouTube

So, here I was, minding my own business, catching up on some encouraging YouTube videos, when I was interrupted by a 7-minute ad. While I’m usually on that “skip this ad” button like butter on a hot potato, I have to admit- I was totally taken by this ad.

 

“June” is an animated short film/fancy, extensive advertisement about a little old lady in Chicago who finds a new lease on life via the ride-share app, Lyft. Yes, I’m certain it’s a romanticized image of what driving/using Lyft is like on a daily basis. However it was so lovely and vibrant that I felt compelled to share it here.

And I feel like a CRAZY PERSON saying, here! watch this ad! when we all receive more than enough ads every waking hour (and it’s not like I’m getting commission). That being said, this was a delightful little art piece that encourages humans to be loving humans in an entertaining way. I really appreciated the clean, bold design; the snappy story-telling; and the tour through Chicago. And I may have nearly teared up near the end… (Communities coming together gets me every time, gosh darn it!)

1-cxdkatcdzjyojjb4yl0fsw
The usual suspects! Borrowed from Medium

I’ve used Lyft maybe once. I’m sure it was a fine experience, not that I can remember. But props to director John Kahrs (also responsible for Disney’s “Paperman”) and his design team! Whoop whoop! And props to Lyft for doing something interesting & out of the box with their advertising.

View the sweetness here!

Leave a Reply

